Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
I downloaded Red hat 9 from bittorent i burnt it on 3 cds I used rawwritewin so i can boot it from floppy drive the problrm is it doesn't read ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    14

    Noooooobi help


    I downloaded Red hat 9 from bittorent
    i burnt it on 3 cds
    I used rawwritewin so i can boot it from floppy drive
    the problrm is it doesn't read the cd

    this is what is in the first cd

    p.s. my cd drive works

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    Bloodfire,
    annoying isn't it.

    Let's see if we can get to the bottom of your problem.

    When you boot with your Linux install diskette, do you get a white text on black background screen, with a boot: command prompt?

    What do you do then? Enter "linux text" ? or what?

    I'm trying to work out at what stage your install is failing.

    Also, have you had a look at the documentation at this site ? :-
    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...-starting.html

    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    14

    i keeping getting the same image
    even thou the first cd is in the cd-rom

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Do you have multiple CD ROM drives? Have you checked to see if it boots on another box? It could possibly be a bad burn.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    14
    I have only one cd drive
    how can i have a bad burn
    i can read the cd
    it shows me the folders and files
    can you tell me if i'm missing any files from first pic

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    please describe your CD drive. Is it IDE attached?

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by Bloodfire
    how can i have a bad burn
    very easily actually. sometimes just burning a cd like normal doesn't work out. if anyone has ever burned Dreamcast games they probably know that you have to burn them at the lowest speed possible to guarantee it to work.*

    My Creative CD/MP3 player won't read discs that I burn on my 52x Samsung drive unless I burn at 16x or less

    *raublekick does not condone pirating games, just using an example

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    some things to try :-
    When you get the "Insert the CD" screen, press (and hold down at the same time) Ctrl Alt F3
    This will give you a different text console, which should have a load of messages, all starting with a "*" .
    Does the last message say something along the lines :-
    * Trying to mount device hdb
    If so, what is the name of the device (hdb in my example)?

    Then if you press Ctrl Alt F4 another text console will show different set of messages. Are there any about failing to open cdrom?

    Another thing to try :-
    initially, when you boot up with your diskette and you get a boot: prompt , enter linux hdX=cdrom (where you replace the "X" in hdX with a letter coirresponding to your CDROM - a = first IDE controller , master, b = first IDE controller slave, c = second IDE controller master, and d = second IDE controller slave). And see if that solves your problem.

    Nerderello
    ps. the listing of your CD1 looks correct to me (had a quick look at an old Redhat 9 install CD that I've got).

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    14
    When i tried Ctrl+Alt+f3
    i got the line: trying to mount device hdc

    then when i tried Ctrl+Alt+f4
    cdrom: open failed

    i even tried boot: prompt with the letter coirresponding to your CDROM
    it wouldn't work

    i'm at the point of braking my computer

    p.s. the cd-rom is pretty old but i think it has IDE
    My computer is a pentiume 2 (900 MHz}
    with 98.0MB DDR RAM
    Goldstar
    Rage Pro Turbo AGP 2x(English)(Direct x)
    modem: LT Win Modem

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    can you go ctrl+alt+f2 and type mount/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom and see what happens

    ps.

    if push comes to shove then you can copy the contents of all the cds to C:\linux and rawrite the hd.img out of the directory images on to the floppy and tell the installer where you saved the cd contetnts.
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •