Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I wonder if anyone can help, I have tried googling this many times and still have had no success. I have an old Dell Latitude LM P133 with a 1626 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Puppy Installation on 'antique' laptop

I wonder if anyone can help, I have tried googling this many times and still have had no success.

I have an old Dell Latitude LM P133 with a 1626 Mb hard drive and 40Mb RAM. This model has a swappable 3.5" floppy or CD-rom but will only boot from HDD or Floppy, USB is not supported.

I have been playing with Puppy on my main computer as a CD boot and would like to install Puppy on the DELL, I understand that this would be a suitable system.

I can remove the hard drive and connect it to a pc running xp via USB cable (This pc also has UBUNTU on it (dual boot and fairly recent install of which I have very little experience!)

So far I have I have copied the ISO file to the hard drive (FAT 32 format) but it won't boot directly, I have tried installing GRUB but to be honest am not really sure what I am doing. I have also tried the wakepuppy floppy and copied the IDEHD file to the hard drive but still no luck, I am getting 'pnpbios fault' messages.

Is there a real step by step guide for a complete linux newbie available on the internet or can anyone help.

If necessary I can reformat the drive and start from clean if you prefer

many thanks

Linux User
    I would use unetbootin (web search and download) with the old laptop hard drive connected via usb and 'burn' the Puppy iso to that drive. Get the dev name of the drive (/dev/sd?) and set this as the target in unetbootin. Grub will be installed on the drive by unetbootin.
    0 + 1 = 1 != 2 <> 3 != 4 ...
    Until the camel can pass though the eye of the needle.