Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I had a nicely-working installation of "Blag" linux (based on FC1) and wanted to dual-boot another distro. I put "Mepis" on my second HD and set the Grup boot loader ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

dual-boot "Mepis" and "Blag"

I had a nicely-working installation of "Blag" linux (based on FC1) and wanted to dual-boot another distro. I put "Mepis" on my second HD and set the Grup boot loader on the "C" drive (where I also had "Blag") but although "Mepis" works great, I don't have an option to boot to "Blag," so I've obviously hosed something.

Any solutions for an absolute newbie? Thanks.

Linux Engineer
    use a boot disk to blag and try running liloconfig under blag...er, or whatever command configures grub

Just Joined!
    Er, like I said...I'm an absolute newbie.

How do I do what you recommended?

I've never dual booted between Mepis and Fedora before but I'm presently dual booting between SuSE 9.1 and Fedora Core 1, and have also dual booted between Fedora and Mandrake 10. I also run Mepis on a laptop.

Is your /boot directory on its own partition? Did you tell Mepis to overwrite it? I think you did since you say you no longer have Blag as a boot choice.

I may be wrong, but this is how I'd approach it. First, make a boot floppy of Mepis, so you'll always be able to boot to it if you hose everything else.

Secondly, copy your entire Mepis /boot directory to another safe place, say in your home directory, where it cannot be overwritten.

If Blag installs like Fedora Core 1, then you can do an "upgrade" with your Blag disk. It will be like the install but you just won't be partitioning and stuff. Do not choose a new install, or all your Blag will be overwritten!