Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I had a fresh copy of Windows Vista installed (original from the factory)- and I followed a document of dual booting - however I think I did some mistake or ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! High_Lander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23

    Dual Booting Windows Vista and Fedora 11


    I had a fresh copy of Windows Vista installed (original from the factory)- and I followed a document of dual booting - however I think I did some mistake or automatic skip of install Grub boot loader-

    Now my fedora 11 is running smoothly but windows vista is gone or does not boot - I don't have any boot disks- they give examples having floppy disk a boot disk- my laptop doesn't have floppy drive- I guess I could manage in cd or flash drive.

    I see my computer's config in fedora desktop as
    computer:///250%20GB%20ATA%20WDC%20WD2500BEVS-6.drive
    computer:///250%20GB%20ATA%20WDC%20WD2500BEVS-6-1.drive
    computer:///PIONEER%20DVDRW%20%20DR-KD08HB.drive
    computer:///root.link

    I noticed that the partition NTFS still exists and it has not been erased. I did install linux on hda5 since hda1 was partitioned with NTFS

    Is there any manual and precaution to be taken while doing the same dual boot system ?

    Or is it possible to have dual boot with the present config- although i am ready to install fresh window vista and fedora as my dual booting systems...

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    Fedora has this habit of not seeing other OS's for a GRUB setup when installing it.
    Not a major problem.
    You'll need to edit your /boot/grub/menu.lst.
    Open a terminal, and using an editor of your choice, add the following to your menu.lst:
    Code:
    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! High_Lander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23

    Dual Booting Window Vista and Fedora 11

    I wonder what could be the reason? The following script on menu.lst, is not enough to boot Windows Vista- however- the fedora is booting smoothly. Thank you for any suggestion in advance-


    [root@localhost grub]# cat menu.lst
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    # root (hd0,2)
    # kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root
    # initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/sda
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora (2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE)
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE ro root=/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE.img
    title Other
    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1

    # rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    # chainloader +1







    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Fedora has this habit of not seeing other OS's for a GRUB setup when installing it.
    Not a major problem.
    You'll need to edit your /boot/grub/menu.lst.
    Open a terminal, and using an editor of your choice, add the following to your menu.lst:
    Code:
    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Boot up Fedora and execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    su -
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    Post output here.

    * Its small L in fdisk -l.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined! High_Lander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23

    Smile result of /sbin/fdisk -l

    [root@localhost sbin]# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes:
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x1ddd1ddc

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 16119 129474144 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 28868 30401 12321855 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 * 16119 16145 204800 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 16146 28867 102189465 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 16146 28867 102189056 8e Linux LVM

    Partition table entries are not in disk order

    Disk /dev/dm-0: 99.4 GB, 99421782016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12087 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table

    Disk /dev/dm-1: 5217 MB, 5217714176 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 634 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-1 doesn't contain a valid partition table





    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Boot up Fedora and execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    su -
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    Post output here.

    * Its small L in fdisk -l.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Open grub.conf file with root privileges.
    Code:
    su -
    nano /boot/grub/grub.conf
    Put # sign before hiddenmenu line.
    Code:
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    # hiddenmenu
    title Fedora (2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE)
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE ro root=/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE.img
    title Other
    title Windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1
    Press Ctrl+X, Y and hit Enter key to save file. Reboot machine.
    Select Other title in GRUB Menu and post error message here, if any.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined! High_Lander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23

    Thumbs up Dual Booting Systems work fine now

    I thank you so much- The modified code u suggested here at the forum works great.

    Later

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you !

    Change Other with whatever you like in grub.conf file.
    Code:
    title Other
    Code:
    title Windows OS
    You can set Windows OS to boot up by default by setting default value to 1.
    Code:
    default=1
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •