Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I what to dual boot DSL with windows xp on my IBM laptop but i have had a look around and I'm not sure how. i can't burn any cd's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    46

    DSL installation help


    I what to dual boot DSL with windows xp on my IBM laptop but i have had a look around and I'm not sure how. i can't burn any cd's because i don't have a cd burner but i can boot DSL off my USB stick.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    Hi apemax,

    If I were to do this job, I would prepare my HD first using gparted.

    Gparted is quite easy to use since it is GUI and as easy as clicking my may to partitioning and formatting my hard drive. You can shrink your windows and also prepare and format the partition that you plan to install the DSL in. Including the swap.

    Just in case, you can download a USB version here:

    GParted -- Download

    EDIT: By the way, please back-up important data first. Have you tried installing any linux distro before? If I may ask

    This might be of help too Main Page - DSL Wiki
    Last edited by nujinini; 04-23-2010 at 04:30 PM.
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    46
    i have debian on it at the moment and i have installed ubuntu on my other pc as well. i'll partition my hard drive first as well like you said. i would like if possible to keep debian on my HDD as well as windows and DSL.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    In that case you can use the gparted to make the proper allotments and formats of partitions and prepare your system for a triple boot. I think gparted is also available in Debian synaptic.

    I remember when I was relatively new, I had my system multibooted with 6 different OSes. But now I just maintained four (XP, Mint, Fedora, Ubuntu) The other OSes are all running in VirtualBox. .

    i have installed ubuntu on my other pc as well
    In that case I think this will be quite easy for you since you have already prior experience in installation of OS

    Good luck!

    EDIT: By the way, may I ask how much is your total HD size please?
    Last edited by nujinini; 04-23-2010 at 06:56 PM.
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    46
    the total size is 30GB. right now windows has 20GB and debian has 10GB but this being a ibm there was a predesktop area but when i installed debian it deleted it. so once i reinstall the predesktop area i will have a bit less... do you know how much the predesktop area takes up?

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    the total size is 30GB. right now windows has 20GB and debian has 10GB
    I think these sizes would be fairly enough, granting you would not be saving too many mp3s and other media.

    do you know how much the predesktop area takes up?
    I'm sorry, I am not familiar with how much space this would take.
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    46
    aah... ok and no i wouldn't be putting much media on it. i think thats all the information i need. thanks.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    Glad to be of help.

    Please feel free to post a new thread about issues you might encounter.
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    46
    i've just thought off some thing. on the dsl HD install page it says:

    3. Execute "dsl-hdinstall" by typing "sudo -u root dsl-hdinstall" (without the quotes)
    and enter the just created partition (e.g. /dev/hda1, /dev/sda2)
    This will make a ext2 file system and copies the CD contents to it.

    my question is do you type in "sudo -u root dsl-hdinstall" and then press the enter key and then "enter the just created partition (e.g. /dev/hda1, /dev/sda2)" or do you type it all on the same line?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute sudo command and it will launch DSL installer. Installer will ask for install location. Type partition name in which you want to install DSL.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •