Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
I am a newbie to Linux, having used windows all my life, so please bear with me. I am trying to build a dual boot PC. I have a SATA ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual boot XP(primary) and SUSE 9.2

I am a newbie to Linux, having used windows all my life, so please bear with me. I am trying to build a dual boot PC. I have a SATA Terabyte HDD split into partitions, an Intel 2.5Ghz processor, SATA CD-ROM. I have Windows XP Pro SP3 in the first partion 250G, formatted in NTFS. I have 2 more 10G partitions with nothing on them formatted in NTFS. I am trying to install SUSE 9.2 on the 2nd partition. When I put the first CD in the CD-Rom and boot into the CD, I choose SUSE 9.2, the following error message comes up, You are about to install 32 bit software on a 64 bit computer. I click OK and choose installation and it loads the kernel, then the following message comes up, Could not find the SUSE Linux CD. I click OK and it says activating manual setup program. Then when I choose CD-ROM for the installation it says Unable to mount CD-ROM. How to I build a dual boot system and put SUSE 9.2 on my second partition? I also want to install SUSE 11 on my 3rd partition. Please help. Thanks in advance for all your help.

Hello gymiv,

Welcome!

I will try to see if I get your problem right. Now its my turn to say, please bear with me .

I have a SATA Terabyte HDD split into partitions, an Intel 2.5Ghz processor, SATA CD-ROM. I have Windows XP Pro SP3 in the first partion 250G, formatted in NTFS.
    Ok....

I have 2 more 10G partitions with nothing on them formatted in NTFS. I am trying to install SUSE 9.2 on the 2nd partition.
    This should have been formatted as ext3 and not NTFS...