Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I would like to install a very light linux distribution. Light enough to be an host running virtualbox (or vmware player) and then a linux virtual machine of choice ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Virtual Development environment on Linux distro

Hi,

I would like to install a very light linux distribution. Light enough to be an host running virtualbox (or vmware player) and then a linux virtual machine of choice on it.
    Occasionally I could be in needs of running a windows distribution.

The reason why I would like to do this is that I am a developer. I found much convenient to prepare my development environment and run it from machine to machine. Rather than reinstalling a distribution and set it up each time I buy a new laptop.

Do you think it's possible ? The alternative could be to make a kind of linux image and install on a brand new PC, but I don't know how to do that and what are the downside of it.

thanks

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    All Linux distributions of a similar generation will be equally "light" depending upon the services you are running and the drivers that are installed. Will your host be a workstation/server type of machine, or will it be a laptop?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!
    thanks for your reply.
    The host will be a laptop, because I move often to clients.

What do you think are the minimal services or libraries to keep for that purpose ?

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.