Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
Like yancek mentioned, post up some graphics card specs. The problem is most likely in either the driver modules or the xorg.conf file. Either way, as yancek also said, SUSE ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined! hunter_thom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    89

    Like yancek mentioned, post up some graphics card specs. The problem is most likely in either the driver modules or the xorg.conf file. Either way, as yancek also said, SUSE 9.3 is a bit dated, so it might be that the hardware is not recognized by SUSE.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Its a Graphics Card problem only. SuSe Installer couldn't configure your Graphics Card properly. Boot up in failsafe mode and execute this
    Code:
    lspci | grep -i vga
    Post output here.


    As yancek suggested already, you should consider latest version of SuSe. SUSE 9.3 doesn't support latest Hardware and SUSE Team do not support it now. You won't receive any security updates and packages are obsolete too.

    Could you post your machine's specs here?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    17
    thanks for your help
    my graphic card model:Matrox G450 (mga)

    i removed the card from motherbord and clean it and set it again and i enter
    SUSE Linux(failsafe) and enter as root and then enter 'startX' The desktop .

    what can i do now to make the linux enter direct ?

    thanks again for your help

  4. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this in Failsafe mode :
    Code:
    sax2 -m 0=vesa
    Configure Graphics card and reboot machine.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    17
    thanks for your reply
    but i enter this command and it give me the following

    saX:Initializing please wait..
    saX:wrong module syntax
    saX:syntax : -m cardNr = cardmodule [,.........]
    kareem: #

    and i don't know what can i do ?

  6. #16
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Did you execute exact command? There should be any typo.
    Its zero in sax2 -m 0=vesa. I think you used alphabet O instead of 0 (zero).
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    17
    no , i enter 0(ZERO) NOT O(ALPHABAT)

  8. #18
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you disable internal Graphics Card in BIOS?
    Try sax2 -m 1=vesa command.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    17
    i enter this command and it accepted with me
    and give me the following :
    xc: sorry could not start configuration server
    xc: this could have the following reasons:

    1) the card is still not supported

    2) the card was not detected correctly

    SaX2 -m 0=<name of module>
    3) the card is detected but the server fails to start in spite of the detection
    /var/log/sax.org

    i make the second reason and enter the code and no change happend

    and enter the third reason code and it gives me the following :

    bash : /var/log/sax.log : permission denied

    what can i do now ?

    note : i have the graphic card cd

  10. #20
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Could you post exact output of lspci | grep -i vga command?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •