Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am thinking about buildinga box to be a dvr, so I did a search on myth tv. Back in 2009 Waterhead advised a questioner that he needed to be ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Mythtv: is it difficult to install?

I am thinking about buildinga box to be a dvr, so I did a search on myth tv. Back in 2009 Waterhead advised a questioner that he needed to be prepared for a steep learning curve to install myth tv. I am a relative newbie, is this still the case, or have newer releases such as Mythbuntu made it easier?

Linux Guru
    The installation can easily be done using pre-compiled packages. Most of the major distributions have them, sometimes in a 3rd-party repository. You can even use a MythTV distro, like Mythbuntu, Mythdoora or LinHES (formerly Knoppmyth).

It is in setting it up that will (at times) frustrate you. MythTV is composed of three basic programs:

myhtbackend: A backend "server" that will do the recording, and other jobs.
    mythfrontend: A frontend, that connects to the backend, for playing files, etc.
    mythtv-setup: The initial program to configure the capture card, channel scanning, and storage directories.

The mythtv-setup program must be run first. There are also configuration sections in the frontend, mostly to configure the playback of the recorded files.

If you are planning on recording and watching HDTV, then you will need a nVidia video card. They are the only manufacturer that has good Linux drivers. I would suggest a 9500GT or better.

VDPAU - MythTV

Consult the MythTV wiki often. I originally installed on Fedora, and used a guide that is now included in the wiki.

Installing MythTV on Fedora - MythTV

Good luck, and have fun!
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.