Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm trying to dual boot windows XP and ubuntu netbook (XP is the main OS) on my Asus eee 1005HA. I have the ubuntu on a flash drive and it's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trying to dual boot XP and Ubuntu netbook

I'm trying to dual boot windows XP and ubuntu netbook (XP is the main OS) on my Asus eee 1005HA.

I have the ubuntu on a flash drive and it's bootable, but when I try to install, it only recognizes the flash drive and not the hard drive. How do I make it recognize my hard drive?

Thanks

In case you can't tell, I'm very new to this so a guide would be helpful.

Just Joined!
    You need to partition the hard drive, just google "free harddrive partitioner" or resizer set say 200gigs for XP and 50gigs for ubuntu...The 50gigs for ubunto set as fat32 then you should be able to see it, if not then you need to mount it usually
    Code:
    mount /dev/<insert device>

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by dlippiett View Post
    You need to partition the hard drive, just google "free harddrive partitioner" or resizer set say 200gigs for XP and 50gigs for ubuntu...The 50gigs for ubunto set as fat32 then you should be able to see it, if not then you need to mount it usually
    Code:
    I see that most (or all) of those require a CD rom. My computer doesn't have CD disk. Could these be set up to work with a flash drive?

EDIT: Also, will this fix the Ubuntu setup only giving me the flash drive option?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru
    If you xp on the netbook and it came pre-installed, it probably has the whole drive as one partition. I've never used xp so I'm basing this on what I've read. Usually, Ubuntu comes with a partitioner called GParted and if you can boot the Ubuntu USB, go to the tabs at the top and look for it.