Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
My first post; I can't figure out where I should put it - apologies in advance for a misdirected inquiry. To the programmers out there: I've got a question regarding ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Are compilations created equal?

My first post; I can't figure out where I should put it - apologies in advance for a misdirected inquiry.

To the programmers out there:
    I've got a question regarding the compiling of software. Although I took a few courses in college, I am definitely not a programmer and certainly not knowledgeable about the inner workings of computers. I am fairly new to Linux having tried Ubuntu for less than a year now ... but finding that it seems to be a better system - the best descriptor I can give is to analogously call it "sturdier feeling" than Windows - toss in the "free factor" and it becomes pretty compelling. So instead of my Ubuntu installation being a mere stopgap measure I find I'm going to want to use it more. And that likely will mean installing some out-of-the-mainstream software.
    One area that is scary to a new Linux user is the compiling of software. Sooner or later, though, one will want something not available in the software repositories. My first experience with this was the latest iteration of the VLC media player, which, not being in the Ubuntu repository, had to be "compiled from source," as the lingo has it. I found somewhat to my surprise that this wasn't too terribly difficult, but rather extremely tedious, as the "./configure" command had to be run many many times, in between which I got another library file from Synaptic. But at least the error messages were intelligible! I got it done and now have a .deb file as a result.