Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
hi Ozar/Nujinini, I understand that from your inputs all i have to do is run the below command from Linux terminal, dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=446 count=1 But my only question ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    13

    hi Ozar/Nujinini,
    I understand that from your inputs all i have to do is run the below command from Linux terminal,

    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=446 count=1

    But my only question is what exactly sda should be replaced with and the next steps to be followed.

    When i run the fdisk -1 command below is the output, could you tell me now what sda should be replaced with,

    Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 1200341237764 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 2434 19535008+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 2433 14593 97683232+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 2433 8511 48829536+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda6 8512 10943 19535008+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda7 10944 13375 19535008+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda8 13376 13388 104391 83 Linux
    /dev/sda9 13389 14593 9679131 8e Linux LVM

    Really appreciate your help on this.

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272

    Can some guru kindly confirm this please?

    Ooopsss

    Sorry I was to fast and did not notice that you already posted the output.



    Ok,

    I am just making a guess here so it would be wise to wait for the gurus to confirm. "dd" is a very powerful command and it can erase your whole partitions if we make a mistake.


    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda1 bs=446 count=1
    I repeat, please wait for a confirmation before you execute.

    Good luck!
    Last edited by nujinini; 11-19-2010 at 12:55 PM.
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    13
    Hi, can somebody confirm the command? Really appreciate the help. Thanks

  4. #14
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by VinayKS View Post
    I understand that from your inputs all i have to do is run the below command from Linux terminal,

    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=446 count=1

    But my only question is what exactly sda should be replaced with and the next steps to be followed.

    When i run the fdisk -1 command below is the output, could you tell me now what sda should be replaced with,

    Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 1200341237764 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 2434 19535008+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 2433 14593 97683232+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 2433 8511 48829536+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda6 8512 10943 19535008+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda7 10944 13375 19535008+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda8 13376 13388 104391 83 Linux
    /dev/sda9 13389 14593 9679131 8e Linux LVM
    Based on the info you've posted above, the following command should clear your MBR and allow your Windows installation disk to boot again if the install disk itself is good:

    Code:
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=446 count=1
    Don't forget you'll need root permissions to run the command, or you'll need to use a liveCD to run it. You should get a short message about records in / records out, and after that your MBR should be cleared. Check posts #2 and #4 again for additional info.
    oz

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    13
    Oh my god! I ran following on my dual (XP & Fedora 5) after booting from Fedora(linux) and now my system doesn’t boot at all! Not even from XP!! Just shows blank screen (with blinking underscore)!

    What should i do now?

  6. #16
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by VinayKS View Post
    Oh my god! I ran following on my dual (XP & Fedora 5) after booting from Fedora(linux) and now my system doesn’t boot at all! Not even from XP!! Just shows blank screen (with blinking underscore)!

    What should i do now?
    No, WinXP nor Fedora should boot at all if you've cleared the MBR as you intended by running the command given earlier. You should be able to boot your Windows installation disk to restore your Windows bootloader if that's what you want, or you can restore your GRUB bootloader using the SuperGRUB liveCD, or some other liveCD.

    Note that Fedora 5 is very old now and has been unsupported for quite some time. I'd highly recommend installing the latest Fedora release which is Fedora 14. Doing that will install GRUB to the MBR again, and you can then add Windows as a boot option if it doesn't get added automatically.

    Otherwise, if you want to be right back to where you were at the beginning of all this, simply restore the backup of your system that was suggested to you back in post #4 and then you can try fixing the problem with the un-bootable Windows installation disk by other means.
    oz

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    13
    hi Oz, let me rephrase a bit. I didnt expect either Windows XP or Federo to boot but i wanted my XP installable CD to load so that i could reinstall. It looks like it is not able to recognize. Now all i get to see is a blank screen and not able to run any command. I dont have a linux live cd but i just have a windows xp CD.

    What can i do to make my linux to boot now? I will try getting another xp CD and check if windows installation will boot up.

  8. #18
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by VinayKS View Post
    hi Oz, let me rephrase a bit. I didnt expect either Windows XP or Federo to boot but i wanted my XP installable CD to load so that i could reinstall. It looks like it is not able to recognize. Now all i get to see is a blank screen and not able to run any command. I dont have a linux live cd but i just have a windows xp CD.

    What can i do to make my linux to boot now? I will try getting another xp CD and check if windows installation will boot up.
    You might try toggling between IDE and SATA mode in your system BIOS then try booting the WinXP install disk to see if it works. You can reset the hard disk mode in the BIOS back to whatever it should be afterwards.

    The SuperGRUB disk can restore Linux bootloaders, and at one time it could restore Windows bootloaders, too, but not sure if it still offers that. They have a wiki on their website with instructions for using it. You can download it from their site, or get a copy of it on the Parted Magic LiveCD (which also comes with lots of other handy utilities). I don't really know if your Fedora 5 install disk offers any bootloader restore options, or not, but maybe a few Fedora users will chime in with some info on that.
    oz

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    13
    hi Oz, where in the BIOS can i find this option to toggle between IDE and SATA mode.

    I checked the CD on another systems and it works fine. It looks like the problem in my laptop. The BIOS is configured to boot from the CDROM drive, and the notebook picks up the CD - it displays the following:

    "Press any key to boot from CD..."

    I press a key and it is followed by the following:

    "Setup is inspecting your computer's hardware configuration..."

    After a few seconds the message disappears from the screen and the drive appears to stop spinning. It does not get to the blue screen where it says "Windows Setup", etc.

    If i try booting in safe mode it stpos at Mup.sys and goes into blue screen.

    Please help.
    Last edited by VinayKS; 11-22-2010 at 06:52 AM.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    13
    hi, can somebody please help?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •