Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello and thank you in advance to anyone who takes the time to read yet another newbies dual-booting problems and offer advice. I don't think my problem is too complex ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual-booting rookie woes

Hello and thank you in advance to anyone who takes the time to read yet another newbies dual-booting problems and offer advice.

I don't think my problem is too complex but I'm relatively new to the more advanced side of Linux and as a result I'm stuck. The dual-booting isn't the REAL problem, but it's the root of the problem I suppose. Actually, my stupidity is the real root, as I failed to create backups of a good deal of code. Anyhow, onto the point.

I recently installed Jolicloud and was completely satisfied with it. I love the font rendering of Linux as compared to the god-awful font rendering in Windows. Being a programmer, little things like that weigh heavily in my operating system choices.

After a few months of happily joliclouding away, I decided to put Windows XP back onto the system, but on a completely separate hard drive so that I would have access to things like Photoshop (I'm not an artist and Photoshop seems a bit more forgiving of that than GIMP). This fresh install of XP seems to have corrupted Joliclouds boot config and now I can't seem to boot into Jolicloud or access the drives it's installed in to at least recover the files.