Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Hi, I am installing fedora 14 on a windows xp machine. Then a message box pop out: Code: sda1(ntfs,0MB) Shrink partition to size (in MB): 18046 I tried to increase ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    24

    [SOLVED] Shrink current system


    Hi, I am installing fedora 14 on a windows xp machine. Then a message box pop out:

    Code:
    sda1(ntfs,0MB)
    Shrink partition to size (in MB): 18046
    I tried to increase sda1's size but failed. It always is 0 and can not changed even slide the scrool bar.
    The shrink partion size can be changed but I don't know what is the best size.

    I haven't shrink it because I worry that the data will be lost.

    Thanks for help.

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Hi there,
    Before you go any further, please tell us what you are using for resizing the partitions. Does your machine meet the system requirements? Make sure you boot into Windows safe mode and check disk, defrag, back up, back up, back up.
    Boot up any LiveCD and post the output of this command:
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    That's a lowercase L, not a 1
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    24
    Nothing after
    Code:
    fdisk -l

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by zhshqzyc View Post
    Nothing after
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Did you try login as root or use sudo?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You need administrative privileges to execute fdisk command.
    Gain root privileges using su - command.
    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    24
    I guess that the unallocate space is too small, I used a free partition software to resize the partition. So the unallocate space is around 20GB.

    Then I discard "Shrink current system" method, select free space method. It looks good.

    Another question, when I start the machine, the screen asks me to hit any key to enter the boot menu. But the period is too short, I can't react it quickly then the system goes to the Fedora. Can I control the time?

    Thanks.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You have to edit /boot/grub/grub.conf file.
    Open it with root privileges and increase value of default. It's time in seconds.
    Code:
    su -
    nano /etc/boot/grub.conf
    Set default value to 10 or 15.
    Code:
    default=10
    Press Ctrl+X and Y to save file.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    24
    I uses vi editor and click :w. Why no response?
    What is the popular editor? Is vi too old?

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Which version of vi are you using? I prefer nano and vim editors to edit confs.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    24
    I don't know how check the version of vi.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •