Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to Linux and have several LiveCD distros that I would like to put on a Multi-Boot macine. I attempted to do this already but only the last ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to Partition drive for Multi-boot

I am new to Linux and have several LiveCD distros that I would like to put on a Multi-Boot macine. I attempted to do this already but only the last installed distro will boot so I am doing something wrong. During the installations both installers asked about partitioning the drive and using the remaining space and such, but I don't feel I understand WHAT the installer it trying to do to answer in such a way as to end up with the multi-boot system I want.

So before I start over I would like to know more about HOW a multi-boot system SHOULD be partitioned and HOW the selection of WHICH distro to boot is accomplished.

Would a multi-boot system be able to share mounted partitions? ie.: 5gig partition mounted as /swap (maybe too large?) or 25gig partition for documents/photos/etc I might be accessing from any of the distros?

Would each distro be installed in a different partition and how do I control which partitions a distro goes into?

I am trying MEPIS, Ubuntu, gNewSense, and possible a couple others before I make final decision on which I like best. The system had P4 with 2gig RAM and an 80gig IDE that will be wiped of Microsoft forever! My initial thinking is that there should be at least 10gig for each distro and 5gig for /swap leaving around 25gig or so for shared documents/photos?

Is 10gig enough for each distro to allow for additional software to be installed or should I limit the number of distros to the initial three and give more space to each?

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.