Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I'm running Puppy now, I love it <3 So light,runs with almost no lag andeven FB doesnt lag with just 256 MB ram. But now to the point. Can I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22

    Talking Skip the GRUB menu and boot an OS right away?


    I'm running Puppy now, I love it <3 So light,runs with almost no lag andeven FB doesnt lag with just 256 MB ram. But now to the point. Can I get my Puppy to boot right away with a pressing of the power button? I men it's good now but it'll be even more swift with just one press of a button,I'm on my desktop. Is it possible? I've seen it in ubuntu before (or does Ubuntu use its own boot loader?)

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You can set 1 second timeout in menu.lst file but there will be one drawback. If anything goes wrong with Puppy, you will not have any choice except booting up through LiveCD.

    Open /boot/grub/menu.lst file with root privileges and set timeout=1.
    Last edited by devils casper; 03-18-2011 at 05:25 PM.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Still getting the grub menu.
    And Puppy auto,atically gives you root priv.,its a single user system.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Could you post the contents of menu.lst file here?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Could you post the contents of menu.lst file here?
    # GRUB configuration file '/boot/grub/menu.lst'.
    # generated by 'grubconfig'. Fri Mar 18 16:43:34 2011
    #
    # The backup copy of the MBR for drive '/dev/sda' is
    # here '/boot/grub/mbr.sda.17013'. You can restore it like this.
    # dd if=/boot/grub/mbr.sda.17013 of=/dev/sda bs=512 count=1
    #
    # Start GRUB global section
    #timeout 30
    color light-gray/blue black/light-gray
    # End GRUB global section
    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    title Linux (on /dev/sda1)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro vga=normal
    # Linux bootable partition config ends
    title Install GRUB to floppy disk (on /dev/fd0)
    pause Insert a formatted floppy disk and press enter.
    root (hd0,0)
    setup (fd0)
    pause Press enter to continue.
    title Install GRUB to Linux partition (on /dev/sda1)
    root (hd0,0)
    setup (hd0,0)
    pause Press enter to continue.
    title - For help press 'c', then type: 'help'
    root (hd0)
    title - For usage examples, type: 'cat /boot/grub/usage.txt'
    root (hd0)
    title Puppy Linux 520 full install in sda1
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 pmedia=atahd

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Uncomment timeout=30 by removing the # at the beginning of the line and change it to timeout=1
    This will display the menu for 1 second before booting the default option.
    If you really want to you can hide the menu as well (see hiddenmenu) ... but it will not improve boot time

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    Oh btw can i remove everything but the puppy install in sda1 stuff except the timeout etc. like the configs fo runexistent Oss?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    You could but again this has no impact on boot time ... if you comment out each line then this will prevent the menu option being displayed. You can also change the default boot option - the first menu item is selected with default 0 the second with default 1 and so on.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    22
    like "clean" the menu.lst? I outcommented the timeout and put it to 1.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by sportcrazy60 View Post
    like "clean" the menu.lst? I outcommented the timeout and put it to 1.
    Assuming you only wanted to boot with the first option and want to wipe everything else all you will need is
    Code:
    timeout 1
    hiddenmenu
    # and the minimum you actually need below
    title Linux (on /dev/sda1)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro vga=normal

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •