Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hello, I have one HDD with WIN Xp running on it. I have one more partition with NTFS using for WIN Data. I added one Swap and one ext2 Parition ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4

    Lilo booting via boot.ini stops with only "L" show


    Hello,
    I have one HDD with WIN Xp running on it.
    I have one more partition with NTFS using for WIN Data.
    I added one Swap and one ext2 Parition for installing Knoppix within this extended partitions.
    I installed LILO as Bootmanager in my System root Partition (hda7, Swap is HDA6) and made a 'dd' 512 copy of the Bootsector as many tutorials say.
    I copied that Bootsector within my NTFS C:/ Parition running Windows.
    Now I edited the boot.ini File and added my C:/bootse.lnx for booting my LILO Linux Bootmanager.
    Starting now Linux I get a Screen showing only a 'L' not more and stopping booting!
    What my be the problem?

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Why haven't u installed lilo on the mbr?It will be easier now two solutions: either u fix ur W$ mbr thx to the install disk or u boot under knoppix and u reinstall lilo on the mbr.
    I can't be more accurate on lilo coz I'm using grub which is much more better for me

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4
    Same Problem when installing LILO or GRUB in the MBR!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Quote Originally Posted by gessi2000
    Same Problem when installing LILO or GRUB in the MBR!
    oki ready
    Quick explanation of grub (someone make a tut on it on this website I don't know where)
    Not very difficult:
    First ur partitions: u must know on which partition is W$ and linux then u determine what it gives under grub (hd0...) if u're not sure u could test ur configuration simply before writing ur menu.lst: u invoke grub at ur prompt and u write what u think is good and u will see if it really is
    For W$ dont forget makeactive and chainloader +1 could u give us ur partitions and ur menu.lst plz?I will watch it and see if I could help u
    Let's see here:
    http://linuxforums.org/forum/topic-6782.html
    http://linuxforums.org/forum/topic-19999.html
    Read this carefully!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •