Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux although I know some Unix commands from work and university. I have a P2 with RedHat 6.1 OS. I want to format this to create ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Formatting RedHat to install dual-boot Win ME & Mandrake

I am new to Linux although I know some Unix commands from work and university.
    I have a P2 with RedHat 6.1 OS.
    I want to format this to create a dual-boot system with Win ME and Mandrake 9.1.
    I know that Win ME needs to be installed before Mandrake 9.1
    Can someone tell me how to format this RedHat OS ?
    Do I need a DOS/Win boot disk ?
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Minhaz

Linux Enthusiast
    unless its a high level P2 then I would advise against your idea to use mdk 9.1 (it will be very slow) and win ME is just garbage (not just cuz it's windass), if you wanna anything on that, I would go with 98 and something like vector linux or college linux, but nonetheless...

the first thing you wanna do is get rid of your current partitions (assuming you have already backed everything up or don't care). You can use something like partition magic or even fdisk to do this. Delete all of the partitions and then create a partition for windows in the size that you want. Leave the other space as unallocated unless you know exactly what kind of partitions you want to create.
    Then install windows on that created partition FIRST. After that is done, you can insert your linux install cd. If you go with something like mdk or red hat, it will autopartition for you. Just select 'leave current partitions and use unallocated space" . With red hat, you can select a box at the bottom of the screen that allows you to review what partitions will be created and formatted. Just make sure that the fat32 or ntfs partition that you created and used for windows does not have a check mark next to it.