Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I'm a bit of a newb and have piddled with different Linux distros for over a year. I've been happily using Peppermint Ice on my desktop for a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trouble Installing Various Distros on Old Laptop

Hi everyone,

I'm a bit of a newb and have piddled with different Linux distros for over a year. I've been happily using Peppermint Ice on my desktop for a couple of months and have absolutely no intention of going back to Windows, which I now find borderline-unusable.

I bought an older laptop on eBay without an OS, intending to spruce it up with Ice or another light distro. It's a Compaq Armada e500 with 128MB of RAM and 650Mhz Pentium III processor. I'm also using a Netgear WG111v2 USB adapter (works out of the box in Ice). I wound up installing XP just to get things started, as my Peppermint Ice and One boot disks didn't work. I've been at it for 3 days and here's what I've tried:

- Peppermint Ice and One LiveCD's: Hangs at loading screen, sometimes fatal ramswap or SquashFS errors appear.

- Peppermint Ice on USB, using PLoP Boot Manager to load....nothing but a black screen and blinking cursor.

- Linux Mint 7 LiveCD: Hangs at loading screen for a long time, then endless loop of SquashFS errors.

- PCLinuxOS: Hangs at loading screen.

- DSL: LiveCD actually works and I'm impressed with this distro, but I can't get wireless to work.

- Puppy Linux: LiveCD works, and wireless networks are detected but I can't get them to connect no matter what I do, even if I open the network.