Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
Originally Posted by SkittleLinux18 Yeah man. If the virtual machine (VMware or Virtualbox) is the route you'd like to go, we can totally help you. Pick which OS you want ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by SkittleLinux18 View Post
    Yeah man. If the virtual machine (VMware or Virtualbox) is the route you'd like to go, we can totally help you. Pick which OS you want to be your primary install (Win7, Backtrack, or Fedora). Get that installed on your laptop and then let us know. Be sure to tell us which install you go with.
    OS I want to be my primary install : win7

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cobleskill, NY
    Posts
    51
    Here is the order I would suggest:
    Win7, BT, Fedora

    I would give each OS 30GB+ (my own system I give 40GB ea. on a 500GB drive.)
    In all cases do NOT allow automatic partitioning/setup.
    When you get to the partitioning part of Fedora pick the /boot partition but do NOT format it! Then create your / and swap parts. You can use LVM in Fedora but you may not want to do that so that if you want to resize partitions you will be able to. GParted can't resize LVMs. After doing that you'll need to manually edit/merge the grub.conf & grub.conf.rpmsave files. the rpmsave file will have the BT settings. You may also need to add Win7 into grub.conf.

  3. #13
    Linux User SkittleLinux18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    312
    Quote Originally Posted by tirto View Post
    OS I want to be my primary install : win7
    OK, then install Win7 and then go to here and download virtualbox. Install the program and then you will be up and running.

    Operating Virtualbox:

    Open the program and select "New"

    Just follow the directions on the screen.

    Once the new machine is created, you will browse the setting to mount the .iso file you wish to mount to the machine to install on the newly created said machine.

    Then run the machine as if it is a new computer. Don't forget to unmount the .iso file in the settings after install the OS.
    Linux user since: June 2007
    Current distro: kubuntu-14.04
    Specs: AMD Atholon 64 X2 3.2 Ghz, 4GB RAM, GeForce GTS 250 1GB VRAM
    High five if you saw the linux computers 24 used on their CTU sets.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by SkittleLinux18 View Post
    Yeah man. If the virtual machine (VMware or Virtualbox) is the route you'd like to go, we can totally help you. Pick which OS you want to be your primary install (Win7, Backtrack, or Fedora). Get that installed on your laptop and then let us know. Be sure to tell us which install you go with.
    I strongly suggest VM Workstation. Once can boot as many OS's
    at the same time. The guest OS's will run as applications. Try to stay away from "dual boot" or "triple boot", etc...One wrong move
    on any partitions and the re-install of the whole PC is in order...

  6. #15
    Linux User SkittleLinux18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    312
    Quote Originally Posted by hml2004 View Post
    I strongly suggest VM Workstation.
    You have to pay for that and it's almost $200.
    Linux user since: June 2007
    Current distro: kubuntu-14.04
    Specs: AMD Atholon 64 X2 3.2 Ghz, 4GB RAM, GeForce GTS 250 1GB VRAM
    High five if you saw the linux computers 24 used on their CTU sets.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •