Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello - I'm a bit of a noob, but I have genuinely searched hard for the answers to my problem. What I would like to achieve: Install at least two ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Required: Idiot's guide to installing 2 Linux Distros on a Netbook

Hello - I'm a bit of a noob, but I have genuinely searched hard for the answers to my problem.

What I would like to achieve:

Install at least two different Linux distros (e.g. MeeGo and Jolicloud) on a Dell Mini 10v

What I have tried

1. Installed Jolicloud:
      1. as part of the install process, I set up 3 partitions:
        • A Switch partition
        • Partition A for Jolicloud (ext4, mount point = '/')
        • Partition B for Meego (ext4, mount point = '/boot')
      2. - Installed successfully on partition A and confirmed working
    2. Installed Meego:
      1. as part of the install, I set partition B to mount at /
      2. Installed successfully on partition B and confirmed
      working
    3. Realised that only Meego boots: only one OS can be bootable at a time, so I need something called a "bootloader" to support multiple bootable partitions.
    4. Found lots of posts talking about GRUB in relation to dual boot systems, but nothing to really explain how to use it.
    5. Downloaded and installed GRUB (v1.99) through the MeeGo OS, according to the instructions in the GRUB package.
    6. Stuck: no idea what to do with GRUB.

QUESTIONS

1. What Partitions do I need to create and what should I set the following to:
      1. Partition format (e.g. Ext4?)
      2. Partition Scheme (e.g. GUID Partition Table? Master Boot Record?)
      3. Mount Point (e.g. /boot? /?)
    2. Which partition do I install GRUB on?
    3. Do I install GRUB first or one of the OSs first?
      If it's GRUB first, do I need to boot an OS from USB to install it?