Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Try tapping F2 through the BIOS load/boot initialization. That should bring up the boot options and let you select the optical drive or a usb stick....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Enthusiast Mudgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    664

    Try tapping F2 through the BIOS load/boot initialization. That should bring up the boot options and let you select the optical drive or a usb stick.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    above the snow line
    Posts
    10
    I have been into Bios and changed boot priority to CD/DVD rom first. disabled quick and quiet boot, etc..
    BTW, maybe I wasn't clear, but, when turning the computor on, it goes always to "Bios", no way to get around it. Just need to get gparted to boot, but, no go.

  3. #13
    Linux Enthusiast Mudgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    664
    Quote Originally Posted by dicktster View Post
    I have been into Bios and changed boot priority to CD/DVD rom first. disabled quick and quiet boot, etc..
    BTW, maybe I wasn't clear, but, when turning the computor on, it goes always to "Bios", no way to get around it. Just need to get gparted to boot, but, no go.
    So, even if you start hitting F2 as soon as you power it up, you end up in the main BIOS menu? That sounds like a hardware component, maybe the SATA controller, has failed. I'm out of suggestions.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    above the snow line
    Posts
    10

    Bios boots after installing Pinguy

    Quote Originally Posted by dicktster View Post
    Thanks Mudgen, I tried your other suggestion, i.e., quick and quiet boot, etc., no dice, cannot get around the Bios booting up.
    No need to press F2, just turn computor on and it goes immediately to the Bios. Weird, never had this happen before, never heard of it happening either.

  5. #15
    Linux Enthusiast Mudgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    664
    F2 should interrupt going to the main bios screen if the hardware is ok, is what I"m saying. Start hitting it as soon as you hit the power button.

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    above the snow line
    Posts
    10
    Tried it, nothing stops Bios from booting up, thank you for being here. I did some googling, but, so far, nothing is coming up that is usefull.

  7. #17
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by dicktster View Post
    Tried it, nothing stops Bios from booting up, thank you for being here.
    Hello

    You could try resetting the BIOS to see if that helps. I'm not familiar with that machine so can't give any instructions for doing the reset.
    oz

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    above the snow line
    Posts
    10
    Reseting?, not familiar with this. As I mentioned, I can do nothing except work in the "Bios", i.e., changing settings and all, that is the only choice I have and the choices in this Bios are not many. This must be a very uncommon situation as I still haven't found any reference to it yet. Thank you ozar.

  9. #19
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Different machines/motherboards have different ways of doing it. It might be as simple as removing a small battery for a few seconds, then putting it back in. Check the user manual for your machine for any specifics to resetting the BIOS, or CMOS. There might be an option to "restore factory settings".

    I'm not sure any of that will work, but it's worth a shot.
    oz

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    above the snow line
    Posts
    10
    Hi ozar, I've downloaded the manual, and there is nothing there that is relative to this problem. The idea of removing the cmos battery is one I am considering, otherwise, I am just about ready to take a 5 lb. hammer and remodel this dumb machine, lol. Thanks for your help Ozar.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •