Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Everyone. So a couple of weeks ago I posted in the "New here, say hello" thread, or something like that. I want to remind everyone I am a freaking ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Right. Time has come to switch. Need all the advice I can get.

Hello Everyone.
    So a couple of weeks ago I posted in the "New here, say hello" thread, or something like that. I want to remind everyone I am a freaking newb . So I will need all the help you can/want to give me. So lets get down to it.

My Laptop:

Processor: Intel Core i3 330M. 2 cores, 4 threads ( don't know if it will help)

Memory: 4GB DDR3 at 532MHz

Motherboard: Packard Bell EasyNote TM86. Chipset Model: Havendale/Clarkdale. Southbridge: Intel HM55

Graphic Card: Nvidia 320M 1GB

HDD: Hitachi Travelstar 313GB at 5400RPM

Optic Device: Optiarc AD-7585H (which for some reason ruins every DVD I try to write, funny huh?)

Audio: Realtek something ...using speccy...not very accurate.

Network: Realtek RTL8192SE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC
    and
    Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet.

Now, before you start shouting at me why I bought this piece of garbage, let me tell you I had a limited budget and was pressured by time . Given other circumstances, I would have thought longer about it.

What i want to achieve

I want to use acronis to save the current install of windows on some DVD's in case I need it in the future; it has most of my programs and settings, and installing windows bit by bit, for me, its like nailing your face to a justin beiber poster.(Isn't that always fun)
    So any advice on using acronis would be helpful. I read some of their documentation, but its very generic, I'm interested in stuff they won't put in the manual, like how to avoid ruining the IMG or what settings to use.

After that I want to install 2 linux distro's.