Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I'm trying to install SuSE 8.2 Pro. Though on an old Pentium machine, it meets all the hardware requirements. When I unpack the kernel I get this message: Bad ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

EIP error message during installation--FIXED--

Hello, I'm trying to install SuSE 8.2 Pro. Though on an old Pentium machine, it meets all the hardware requirements. When I unpack the kernel I get this message: Bad EIP value.
    <0> Kernel panic: Attempted to kill init!
    Of course more info available if needed.
    I also had the same problem with Mandrake. SuSE (helpfully) suggested that it's a problem with the new kernel, however when I tried a boot disk from Slackware or Debian with the same kernel, it loaded. As I'm new to Linux any help would be appreciated.

P.S. A old borrowed copy of Red Hat 7.1 installed perfectly, however I want to install SuSe.

Regards
    Ulysses_93674

Linux Guru
    An error like that sounds like a hardware fault to me, if it isn't a corrupted CD. Find a program to calculate the MD5 sum on the CD and compare it to the value on SuSE's site. If the CD isn't corrupted, try download memtest86 and use it to test your memory.

Just Joined!

For Dolda2000

Tested the memory with memtest86-no problem, also tried different
    memory just in case. The disk's fine. Since the bare Slackware boot disk loads without a hitch, and SuSE/Mandrake are known for being "easy" to use, have they added something that's supposed to be useful? (but isn't)

Just Joined!

For Dolda2000 and anyone else.

Right, just downloaded older SuSe boot disks to see if any worked.
    7.1 YES
    8.1 YES
    8.2 (current) NO!

So the problem is definitely with the new 8.2 edition. And yes I've tried other 2.4.20 Kernel bootdisks-NP

Linux Guru