Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Everyone, First of all, I'm not sure that this is exactly the right place to post this question - it has to do with partitions and booting, particularly Linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Partition Problems

Hello Everyone,

First of all, I'm not sure that this is exactly the right place to post this question - it has to do with partitions and booting, particularly Linux partitions, but also some Windows. Second, I've been using Linux for about three years, and I'm able to do most things (use the command line, etc.) but I'm by no means an expert.

So, first, some background on the current situation. The computer in question is an ASUS desktop (about 2 years old now) with a 1 TB hard drive. It came with Windows 7. One of the first things I did was to shrink the Windows 7 partition to about 300 GB and use the rest as a Linux partition. Over the course of time, I installed Ubuntu 12.04, Linux Mint 13 (the primary OS I use), Fedora 17, and OpenSUSE 12.1. I used GRUB as my bootloader (the one that came with Fedora, which I installed last), and all was well. At this point, my Linux partition was normal, I think, one primary partition containing a logical partition for each OS, as well as one or two random, small partitions that I think were used for booting, and the Linux Swap.