Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I am worried, my PC show a black screen for only 1 second, and then all is ok for a long moment, but then this happens again, and the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Error: Black screen

Hi, I am worried, my PC show a black screen for only 1 second, and then all is ok for a long moment, but then this happens again, and the third time my PC don't respond, and I have to reset it. It happens since I upgrade 11.10 to 12.10 (now I know that I don't have to do that).

I search in some forums, but I don't sure, some forums tell me that I have to edit the grub, other tell me about nomodeset but I don't sure and I don't spoil anything. (I AM A BEGINNER)

Initially mi PC (64 bit, core i7, 16 RAM) was dual boot (window-ubuntu) since 8 months. when the problem happen, I formatted my PC, Ubuntu to Fedora, (but not dual-boot, only fedora) and the problem continued, then I formatted all and installed Ubuntu again (all ubuntu), the problem continued, now I installed window in all the system (I remove Linux). The problem only show in Linux, I did that because I didn't know what was the problem, mi PC or the Linux, now I know, the problem is the system, Linux. I want to install dual-bott (window-fedora) but when I try to install Linux the problem appears, black sreen for few seconds.

Please, help me

Hello.
    So, you had Ubuntu installed dual boot for 8 months and it was all good? Then one day out of the blue sky the screen starting blanking?

Sounds like an updated kernel or newer video drivers.

Err, wait a minute 16 RAM what? Is that a typo?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.