Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
Like Tree1Likes
So here's my story. I messed up linux mint somehow so i reinstalled it, erased linux partition and made /boot and / partitions. Once it was installed I restarted from ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    35

    get grub-rescue, fix with disc, get grub prompt, don't know what to do


    So here's my story. I messed up linux mint somehow so i reinstalled it, erased linux partition and made /boot and / partitions. Once it was installed I restarted from live-cd and then I got a grub rescue prompt. After some googling I found out about rescatux and I used that to reinstall grub. After rebooting I still have no bootloader but I have a grub prompt, I tried googling how to fix and everything I try doesn't work, it tells me stuff about the command not being found. I know much of the info about my partitions i'm sure I need so no need to walk me through that, or maybe you should if you think you need to. Sorry about my noobish problems and I hope someone can take the time to help me.

    Thanks

    Tl;Dr: got grub prompt and don't know how to use it and get bootloader back.

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Well first of all, why didn't you let the installer do it for you when you reinstalled it? No need to mess with GRUB rescue after re-installing. Are you sure that got Mint installed?
    Fire up your LiveCD and issue this command, using su - or sudo, whichever works for your system.
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    Take a look at this page, from the Mint help pages.
    It will walk you through re-installing GRUB.

    *EDIT*
    Mike was a little quicker.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    35
    I just let the system do its thing, I wasn't aware i was doing anything wrong. in the process of booting the livecd right now.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    35
    okay i did the fdisk -l, and i also tried the thing that jay told me to do and i get grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for /boot (is /dev mounted?) It is mounted btw...

  7. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    What was the output for
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    35
    Code:
    mint@mint ~ $ sudo fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders, total 156301488 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x2abce1b5
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *        2048      206847      102400    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2          206848   120725503    60259328    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda3       124921854   156299263    15688705    5  Extended
    /dev/sda4       120725504   124919807     2097152   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda5       124921856   125407231      242688   83  Linux
    /dev/sda6       125409280   156299263    15444992   83  Linux
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    First linux is swap, second is /boot, and third is root

  9. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by alun View Post
    I just let the system do its thing, I wasn't aware i was doing anything wrong. in the process of booting the livecd right now.
    Yes, when you boot the installer it will automagically do all this for you, provided you let it.
    Quote Originally Posted by alun View Post
    Code:
    mint@mint ~ $ sudo fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders, total 156301488 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x2abce1b5
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *        2048      206847      102400    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2          206848   120725503    60259328    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda3       124921854   156299263    15688705    5  Extended
    /dev/sda4       120725504   124919807     2097152   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda5       124921856   125407231      242688   83  Linux
    /dev/sda6       125409280   156299263    15444992   83  Linux
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    First linux is swap, second is /boot, and third is root
    Your disk structure looks ok to me. I don't understand why it didn't find the mounted /boot.
    Try posting the output of
    Code:
    mount
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    35
    Code:
    /cow on / type overlayfs (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620)
    tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755)
    /dev/sr0 on /cdrom type iso9660 (ro,noatime)
    /dev/loop0 on /rofs type squashfs (ro,noatime)
    none on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
    tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    none on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,size=5242880)
    none on /run/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    /dev/sda6 on /mnt type ext4 (rw)
    /dev/sda5 on /mnt type ext4 (rw)
    /dev/sda6 on /mnt type ext4 (rw)
    I doubt this has to do with anything, but I was previously using the linux mint with cinnamon, and now have installed KDE.

  11. #10
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    Quote Originally Posted by alun View Post
    Code:
    /cow on / type overlayfs (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620)
    tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755)
    /dev/sr0 on /cdrom type iso9660 (ro,noatime)
    /dev/loop0 on /rofs type squashfs (ro,noatime)
    none on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
    tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    none on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,size=5242880)
    none on /run/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    /dev/sda6 on /mnt type ext4 (rw)
    /dev/sda5 on /mnt type ext4 (rw)
    /dev/sda6 on /mnt type ext4 (rw)
    I doubt this has to do with anything, but I was previously using the linux mint with cinnamon, and now have installed KDE.
    Kinda odd that sda6 is showing twice.
    If you fire up GParted, you should be able to look at the labels for each partition.
    Make sure that you don't have 2 partitions labeled the same way.
    MikeTbob likes this.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •