Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
hey i tried alot to install java,different versions, bin and rpm files , all the cmds but nothing seems to work ...can anyone help me please (or give me a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    47

    install java(RE) in Linux and opera


    hey

    i tried alot to install java,different versions, bin and rpm files , all the cmds but nothing seems to work ...can anyone help me please (or give me a link )

    java is the only reason why i'm still using Windows

    edit; OS = Mandrake 10. 1
    Opera version 7.6preview 4

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Could you be more specific? The problems that come to mind are:
    1. To run Java in a browser, you need the right plug-in and it must be installed correctly: try the websites for Java and for the browser to get further details.
    2. To run Java applications, you need the classpath set up correctly.
    I hope this is helpful.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    47
    look at the screenshot
    http://geocities.com/cameleon_1303/schermafdruk2.jpg

    i need to locate the java in Opera but it doesn't recognize anything als a javaApplet in my folders

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Try this link and see if it helps, and write back if not.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    47
    thanx alot
    ---> it works !

    very helpful link

    no reason anymore to switch to Windows (exept for some hardware :/)

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    That's GREAT!! And thanks for letting me know that it was helpful .
    Quote Originally Posted by tergemble
    no reason anymore to switch to Windows (exept for some hardware :/)
    Now, lets talk about your hardware....
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    47
    hehe , there are no linux drivers for my scanner and printer (also tried to make a clear install on linux, but it recognises my hardware with a wrong name , i'll start a new thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •