Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hello all, I am not sure what i am doing incorrect when i recently installed my new windows XP partition for gaming. I got everything set up and running on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    129

    I am having issues configuring grub to dual boot my system with window


    Hello all,

    I am not sure what i am doing incorrect when i recently installed my new windows XP partition for gaming. I got everything set up and running on one of my spare drives which is the first drive on my first sata controller using partition 1 at position /dev/sda1 while my linux root partition is at /dev/sde2 the first drive on my second controller.

    On my old build i had windows xp pro and now im using a windows xp home install if that matters because os-prober used to detect windows but now it seemingly does not. so i decided to write a script to try to fix that (i am a beginner at bash script and grub2 notation) but that still does not seem willing to work.

    I am left needing some help as i have followed several seemingly conflicting tutorials from different distributions and from GNU Grub2 online manual.

    I created an executable file in my /etc/grub.d directory

    The files name is 31_windowxp

    My first problem i encountered was a recursive loop where i choose windows and that loops back to the grub menu some how without an error message idk why that happened or how that happened but i changed my script to the following format
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    set -e
    
    echo "Windows XP" >&2
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Windows XP" {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
            search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set EEE8737BE87340BF	
    	chainloader +1
    
    }
    EOF
    Which i got from the GNU grub2 manual and it still does not work although i am getting a different error i just get a blinking cursor like if i try to boot to my home directory or empty drives. Ive triple checked and from what i understand the script should point to the first partition of the first hard drive on the system.

    I am at a loss and could really use some help to fix this

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Could you post the output of fdisk -l command here?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    129
    fdisk -l
    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000c2f92
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1      121600   976751968+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000203804160 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00058c2c
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    
    Disk /dev/sdc: 2000.4 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x28db2d53
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdc1               1      243202  1953513472   83  Linux
    
    Disk /dev/sdd: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000d87a0
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    
    Disk /dev/sde: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000c07ba
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sde1   *           1         122      975872   83  Linux
    Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sde2             122        6201    48828416   83  Linux
    /dev/sde3          117711      121602    31249408   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sde4            6201      117711   895706113    5  Extended
    /dev/sde5            6201       18359    97654784   83  Linux
    /dev/sde6           18359       30516    97654784   83  Linux
    /dev/sde7           30516       42674    97654784   83  Linux
    /dev/sde8           42674       54831    97654784   83  Linux
    /dev/sde9           54831       66989    97654784   83  Linux
    /dev/sde10          66989       79146    97654784   83  Linux
    /dev/sde11          79147       85225    48827392   83  Linux
    /dev/sde12          85225       97383    97654784   83  Linux
    /dev/sde13          97383      117711   163287040   83  Linux
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    
    Disk /dev/sdf: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0006405a
    I fixed my os-prober problem however. I needed to clear the drives metadata as they used to be used for a raid array. the script inserted into my grub.cfg exactly mirrored my script except the UUID characters were lowercase so i switched it out so they would be identical just to test my theory.. One worked one did not work.

  4. #4
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    464
    You didn't mention, or I didn't notice, what Linux distro you're running. Typically updating grub should be enough to add a Windows entry to the boot menu.
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
    You didn't mention, or I didn't notice, what Linux distro you're running. Typically updating grub should be enough to add a Windows entry to the boot menu.
    Im running a custom kernel 3.2.28 on a debian distro. I think OS-Prober couldnt find my install because i had metadata saying that my drives were raid drives however that doesnt explain why my script didnt work. Is that true for more antiquated windows installs once i find my w98 or w95 or dos cds /floppies and i plan on popping one or two of those in to play my classics from the 80's and early 90's

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •