Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I am a novice to Linux and have been running Xubuntu for only a few months. I have always used MS Win and Mac OS. I am currently switching ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question configure dual-boot restart settings?

Hi, I am a novice to Linux and have been running Xubuntu for only a few months. I have always used MS Win and Mac OS.

I am currently switching to Linux but still need Win for work. My question is:

I would like to setup a dual boot Win 7 and Undecided Linux distro, which I have done, however, I would like to configure the dual booting to automatically restart in the same OS without asking when I select restart?

I successfully set up a dual boot W7 and Xubuntu 12.04 about a month ago, however, when I ran updates and restarted, the OS selection splash screen would come up, rather than automatically restarting the same OS. **Only applies to "RESTART", not SHUTDOWN or HIBERNATE.

Thanks

Linux Guru
    Edit the /etc/default/grub file as root as explained at this link:

grub2 - Grub 2, switch os when restarting - Super User

Just Joined!
    I am guessing this command is done in Terminal? I will try this, thanks.

Linux Guru
    You would need to open a text editor as root user, use sudo before the command. I don't know what the default text editor for Xubuntu is but if it is gedit just open a terminal and type: sudo gedit /etc/default/grub. It's a text file but you need to have root/admin privileges with sudo to edit it. Before making any changes, I would make a copy of the file and move it somewhere temporarily, your /home/user directory in case you have problems. I have a version of Ubuntu installed which has the first line but not the second so you will need to manually add it.

Just Joined!