Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, This is my first attempt at Linux, so bare with me. I tried installing Ferora Core 1, but the software hung at "running /sbin/loader". so I gave up ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hanging @ "Finding module dependencies"

Hi guys,

This is my first attempt at Linux, so bare with me.

I tried installing Ferora Core 1, but the software hung at "running /sbin/loader". so I gave up and tried Red Hat 9. I selected the server option and then selected all applications. On reboot, it is now hanging at "Finding module dependencies".

What should I do? I have tried rebooting loads of times and am beginning to dispair. I can't bring myself to reinstall all over again,

Your help will be gratefully received,

Thanks,

James

p.s. my computer hardware is:
    Asus A7N266 - 160Gig Maxtor Diamond 9 - Duron 1100 and black case with penguin on front!

what kind of media did you install rh9 from? i'm assuming you used a CD?
    cos if you did, then did you download and burn an iso image yourself, or did you buy a pre-packaged disc?

Just Joined!
    Hi,

Thanks for the fast responce.

I downloaded and burnt it to cd. Three CD's in totals.

Does this effect things?

James

did you check the md5sum of the downloaded iso? also, were there any scratches or marks on the disc? Was there anything unusual or worth mentioning that occurred during the installation?
    -lakerdonald

Just Joined!
    The disks were md5 check sum verified and in perfect condition. Everything seemed to work really well. However, this is my first installation of linux and I wouldn't be able to tell something amiss.

What do module dependencies mean? Is it missing something or is the installation setup wrong?

Linux Engineer
    Module dependancies, stand for exactly what it says, I meen aby that, that usualy a particular module, lib, class didnt get installed properly... did you try a full install?