Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Guys, im new to linux, busy studying for linux+ exam after speaking to a few people on this forum and others i understand the best way to learn is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can a few linux gurus please help me???

Hi Guys,

im new to linux, busy studying for linux+ exam
    after speaking to a few people on this forum and others i understand the best way to learn is by doing...

so i am busy doing a project that will helpfully help me understand more about this amazing OS and have fun along the way.

I have a duel core PC with 4GB of RAM and have vmware running on windows 7 64bit pro.

i want to setup LTSP and have two "dumb" pc's boot from images on my virtual centos server...i plan to have the thin clients boot vector linux (as i read its a very light distro) from images on the server. i want to use the thin clients as general work stations for internet and use libre office to write docs etc...as well as other software.

so i have a few questions:

if i put another network card in my physical machine, can i configure DHCP on centos to only distribute addresses over the "new" card to my thin clients?

currently im using NAT for my connection on the virtual centos server and it has an internet connection. I only want cent server to distribute addresses on the "private" lan of the "new" card. i dont want to have cent distribute ip's to all my workstations on the entire network...is this possible?

once i get this right i will look at setting up LTSP on the server and doing the rest of the project.

thanks for reading
    any tips/help greatly appreciated
    j0n1n

Trusted Penguin
    Hello and welcome!

I've moved your post to a place where it will hopefully get better attention.

Trusted Penguin
    Quote Originally Posted by j0n1n View Post