Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I am running Red Hat 7.3 and Win98 on two hard drives. hda has win98 and hdd has Red Hat 7.3. I want to set up grub to allow me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! gravyflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    Posts
    26

    Help with dual booting Win98/Red Hat 7.3


    I am running Red Hat 7.3 and Win98 on two hard drives. hda has win98 and hdd has Red Hat 7.3.

    I want to set up grub to allow me to boot into Win98. I am a Newbie so I would lov to be walked though it.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    I can help

    gravy,

    I need to know which partition is the linux root(/) in hdd. Just out of curiosity, what do you have on hdb and hdc. From what you are telling me, you have four hard drives. Is this correct?

    bp
    The best things in life are free.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I assume that /dev/hda1 is your actual Windows partition. If so, try the following: Start up GRUB (i.e. boot you computer), go to the command line and type the following two commands exactly as shown here:
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1
    boot

    If that works, just add the following to your grub.conf:
    title win98
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1

    Of course, you can replace win98 with whatever you want. I'm not sure which characters that are special in grub.conf, though. Just don't use anything too weird, like non-ASCII characters or so.

  4. #4
    Just Joined! gravyflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    Posts
    26
    Sorry I was not clear I will try again.

    I have two hard drives. Tried adding the above but it did not work.

    IDE
    hda Win98 SE

    hdd Red Hat 7.3 [default instal]
    Contents of the grub conf file

    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    # root (hd0,0)
    # kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hdd2
    # initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hdd
    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.18-3)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.18-3 ro root=/dev/hdd2
    initrd /initrd-2.4.18-3.img
    title Windows 98 SE
    root (hd1,0)

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    Try this

    From what your grub.conf file is telling me, you have FOUR drives. The last disk/second partition contains Redhat, second disk/first partition contains Win98 SE. I need to know exactly what you have in your hard drives. Do you have a boot partition? If so, which drive is it in? My guess is that it's the first hard drive, first partition. I'm guessing all of this based on your grub.conf file. If you want me to help, I really need to know EXACTLY what your hardware is like.

    For now, try this:
    Code:
    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.18-3)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.18-3 ro root=/dev/hdd2
    initrd /initrd-2.4.18-3.img
    
    title Windows 98 SE
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    chainloader +1
    bp
    The best things in life are free.

  6. #6
    Just Joined! gravyflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    Posts
    26
    I have two physical disk.

    The following is the partition info for fdisk -l

    /dev/hdd1 * 1 102 51376+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hdd2 = 103 15343 7681464 83 LINUX
    /dev/hdd3 = 15344 16383 524160 83 Linux swap

    Second disk.

    /dev/hda1 = 1 1244 9992398 c Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

    I have the Win95 as the primary/master and the Linux drive as Secondary/slave.


    In the bios I select boot device as drive 1

    Hope that helps!
    *Thanks

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    alright

    Try this. This should now work.

    Code:
    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd3,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.18-3)
    root (hd3,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.18-3 ro root=/dev/hdd2
    initrd /initrd-2.4.18-3.img
    
    title Windows 98 SE
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
    Tell me if this works or doesn't work.

    bp
    The best things in life are free.

  8. #8
    Just Joined! gravyflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    Posts
    26
    Did not work! Gave me a Non System disk or disk error.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    This all seems really, really strange. What bpark gave you was virtually the same as what I gave you, and thus both _should_ have worked without a problem. Deeming from your grub.conf, it seems that your BIOS might be switching the drive numbers for some strange reason.
    Could you go to your GRUB command line (press c at boot time), and post back the output of these commands:
    Code:
    find /msdos.sys
    find /vmlinuz-2.4.18-3
    If "find /msdos.sys" doesn't work, try it with uppercase letters instead.
    You can also try this:
    Code:
    chainloader (hd1,0)+1

  10. #10
    Just Joined! gravyflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    Posts
    26
    I tried
    Code:
    chainloader (hd1,0)+1
    amd it said booting Win98 for a while and to do the 3 finger salute to reboot.

    Will try the find thing.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •