Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys. Want to apologize in advance if this in the wrong section of the forum. Also want to let you guys know I appreciate you helping me. I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to install windows 7 on my computer?

Hey guys. Want to apologize in advance if this in the wrong section of the forum. Also want to let you guys know I appreciate you helping me.

I have a gateway desktop. I had windows 7 on it and it got the blue screen of death. My friend had fixed it but I didnt have the windows 7 cd so he installed linux on it. I like linux a lot but the problem is Im a noob in computers so this is very difficult stuff for me to utilize. Also alotta programs I need cant be opened through linux without me doing alotta mumbo jumbo.

I've been trying to delete linux but I cant. I bought the windows 7 cd, but it wont boot from it or whatever.

Basically I need someone to help me install windows 7 and remove linux completely.

I have a gateway desktop with ubuntu 12.04. No other OS On this computer.

Thanks in advance!

Just Joined!
    Go to google and type 'zero writter on hard disk' and get the software then make it a bootable cd.In your system go to bios setting and make it boot from dvd/cd then first boot from this cd and this cd makes your hardisk raw(original facotry made hardisk). It will take some time to complete the process after that you will get raw hardisk and you can install any OS in that harddisk through your traditional ways.

Hello and Welcome!

You may need to simply erase the MBR before booting your installation disc. Open up a terminal window, and execute the following command:
    Code:
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=512 count=1
    You will need to have admin privileges to do this, so use su or sudo accordingly.
    After that, make sure that your machine is set to boot to your optical drive, and you should be good to go.
    Jay