Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and any forum in general. I am also a super noob at Linux. So thats why I came here. Alright, so I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How do I run openSUSE 12.1 KDE Live on an external hard drive?

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and any forum in general. I am also a super noob at Linux. So thats why I came here.

Alright, so I know theres a lot of forums already on this topic, but this is a more detailed question.

I recently bought an external hard drive (Western Digital, My Passport, 300GB) and I want to put openSUSE LIVE on it. The reason is because DVDs and USBs have not enough space for my taste. I heard external HDD's act like USB's, so I tried the USB installer. I was still nervous to do it, so I tried to research it some more. I figured out that you can screw up the boot loader if you do it that way. What I'm trying to achieve is to make my external like a live USB or DVD. When you put in insert your USB or DVD, you have to go to the boot menu to select the device to boot to. You can run live USB's and DVD's on just about any computer without the hassle of the boot loader. I also figured out you have to disable your C:\ drive in order to do a full install of any Linux distro to external HDD. Let me make this clear before anybody gets ahead of me: I do not want to install the full thing, I just want to run it live.

So is there any way possible I can run openSUSE live from my external HDD without messing with the boot loader?

Thanks in advance;

Zyan~

Trusted Penguin
    hello & welcome!

you can create an OpenSUSE Live USB "stick", which in reality is your USB-connected external hard drive. Here is the openSUSE documentation on how to do that.