Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
Hi I am new to Linux and I am trying to create a multi boot system. My drive is divided as under PRIMARY PARTITIONS --> sda1 - GRUB 0.97, installed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Getting grub error 17 after installing multiple OSes please help!

Hi
    I am new to Linux and I am trying to create a multi boot system.

My drive is divided as under

PRIMARY PARTITIONS -->
    • sda1 - GRUB 0.97, installed booting fine
    • sda2 - Win8 Bootloader, Installed with windows
    • sda3 - Extended
    • sda4 - TempBoot, will delete this once everything boots up properly

EXTENDED PARTITIONS -->
    • sda5 - Windows 8, installed, able to boot with grub
    • sda6 - Probably for Windows XP sometime later
    • sda7 - Fedora, installed, boot drive copied in boot folder of root partition
    • sda8 - Ubuntu, installed, boot drive copied in boot folder of root partition
    • sda9 - Bodhi, same as above
    • sda10 - Arch linux planning to install sometime later

Starting from an empty hard drive -

I first Installed Windows 8.

Then I started installing Linux. I set each distro to be installed in a different partition on my drive, and the bootloader to a different mount point, but I did not install the bootloaders which get installed to the entire hard drive in fear of losing my Windows bootloader. Then I copied all the boot files to the root directory of each linux using the following commands

$sudo mount /dev/sda4 boot
    $sudo mount /dev/sda7 linux
    $sudo cp -afrv boot/* linux/boot

That was for Fedora, I did the same for all others.

Then I installed GRUB, and tried to boot Windows 8. After lots of mishaps, I was able to boot into Windows 8 without any error messages.
    Then I added entries for the Linux Distros