Find the answer to your Linux question:
Okay so I'm brand new to Linux. My first Linux OS was Crunchbang as of a few days ago. I like it very much. But I figured I might put ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Partitioning Questions; where to put Xubuntu, Crunchbang, etc.?

Okay so I'm brand new to Linux. My first Linux OS was Crunchbang as of a few days ago. I like it very much. But I figured I might put Xubuntu and perhaps even Fedora on my machine as well, and as soon as I can find someone with a MAK I want to put either Win7 or Win8 on there too. It's a netbook; Atom N2600, but with a 120GB SSD and 4GB RAM. So far with Crunchbang it's been pretty snappy. I can play youtube videos and kongregate games without a hitch.

But that's besides the point, my issue is I don't know ANYTHING about partitioning. Partition-wise here's what's on my SSD so far:

/dev/sda
    -----sda1 (ext4) 115,127 MB Size 5876 Used

-----sda5 (swap) 4904 MB 0 Used

Now it seems like I'm supposed to leave swap alone, as that's a backup for RAM, right?

But what about the rest of it? Should I take sda1 and subdivide it, like for instance make a partition called sda2 and put Xubuntu in that, and put Windows in sda3? Or should separate OS's have separate letters altogether, like Xubuntu in sdb and Windows in sdc? I really don't know what's the best way to do this.

And furthermore, what's the best way to go about doing this? Can I use gparted to do this or should I let Xubuntu lead the way as I install it? I tried that way and it gave me the option to install Xubuntu alongside Crunchbang (Debian) and then it asked me to divide up the available space on the SSD, with the default being 57 GB for one half and 57 for the other.

But I didn't know for sure which side would be Xubuntu and which side would be Crunchbang and I didn't know how I'd go about dividing the larger portion further once I needed to install another OS.