Find the answer to your Linux question:
Background: I am a college student who has to use windows programs and that's why I keep it Problem: I recently cleaned my laptop and installed windows 8 as part ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy help windows took control over my computer

Background: I am a college student who has to use windows programs and that's why I keep it
    Problem: I recently cleaned my laptop and installed windows 8 as part of my normal dual booting process (because Linux then windows gives problems).

The problem is after I installed windows my computer will not boot from any USB (have tried 3 and they're fully functional)( hybrid boot is off because it gives issues) and BIOS is set to boot from USb.

Guys I need your help I cannot leave a second more without my Fedora .

Will windows see and read from the USB's? If not, then it sounds like a windows problem, and you may need to go to a widows forum for help. If widows sees and can read from the USB's, then check them in another computer and make sure they will boot another computer. If not, try reinstalling to the USB, if they work in another computer, but not in yours, I don't know what it could be.
    Registered Linux user #526930

Just Joined!
    They work inside windows and are able to boot in another computers except my laptop. I've also tried wubi (and Linux mint version of the installer) and I get the following error saying that windows could not start( even tho I selected mint from the options)

Linux Guru
    Did you have Fedora and windows 8 dual-booting? then re-installed windows 8?
    What does 'cleaned my laptop' mean? Did you overwrite/format Fedora and your previous windows?
    Do you have Secure boot in the BIOS as an option?

Just Joined!