Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello All A few noobie questions or advice needed please. I am not new to PC's or servers, but unfortunately my knowledge is mostly MS based (sorry.....) I have websites ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Advice on Web Severer setup with virtualisation

Hello All

A few noobie questions or advice needed please.
    I am not new to PC's or servers, but unfortunately my knowledge is mostly MS based (sorry.....)
    I have websites hosted on Linux based Servers, but these are always pre-setup for me by the Host. (i am a web programmer, and prefer PHP based code.)

If i can please explain what (i think) i want and any advice or links pointing me in the right directions would be much appreciated!

Server Spec : HP 380DL G5, Dual Xeon, 2 x 4 core, 8GB Ram, 4 x 73GB SCSI HDD's.

For the past few days, i have been reading and think the OS i want (subject to your advice) is Debian.
    I have found a few (relatively easy to follow for a noob) install tutorials, yet they all say "warning this install process is not secure enough for a live web server!".....

I need this to be as secure as possible!! (#1 priority!)

I also need to have MySQL installed.

I also need a simple Mail Server Installed (so i can accept and sent POP3 emails).

I think the best way (most secure) for me to do this is to use virtualisation software.
    So i would have :
    1 Virtual Machine/OS (Debian) that is for the file/website storage
    1 Virtual Machine/OS (Still think i need Debian?) for MySQL, so that i can lock this down to IP.
    Possibly 1 Virtual Machine/OS for the mail server.
    And the possibility to run other Virtual Machine/OS in future.

I would prefer all software to be free!

My main questions are: (although i probably have more questions, but i dont know what they are yet )
    1. What virtualisation software should i use?