Find the answer to your Linux question:
This is my first experience with a dual boot system. I recently got a PC with a dual boot of Mint and Kubuntu. Mint is on a primary (ext4) partition ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual Boot Partitioning

This is my first experience with a dual boot system. I recently got a PC with a dual boot of Mint and Kubuntu. Mint is on a primary (ext4) partition but Kubuntu is on an extended partition along with a swap file. It appears to work well but I am wondering about the reason Kubuntu was put on an extended partition.

I'm not very experienced with partitioning. I was told that each operating system should be on a primary partition. If I try to change the extended partition to a primary could I do so without losing the content?

I'm wondering if the Mint primary partition is able to use the swap file which is on the extended partition.

Should I not worry and just let it be as it is?

14 0222 partitions.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by okbud View Post
    This is my first experience with a dual boot system. I recently got a PC with a dual boot of Mint and Kubuntu. Mint is on a primary (ext4) partition but Kubuntu is on an extended partition along with a swap file. It appears to work well but I am wondering about the reason Kubuntu was put on an extended partition.

I'm not very experienced with partitioning. I was told that each operating system should be on a primary partition. If I try to change the extended partition to a primary could I do so without losing the content?

I'm wondering if the Mint primary partition is able to use the swap file which is on the extended partition.

Should I not worry and just let it be as it is?

14 0222 partitions.jpg
    You should not worry and let it be as it is. Linux doesn't care whether it is on a primary or extended partition.