Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By rixtertrader
I've decided to come over to Linux and discover what it can do for me. I'm a Windows 7 user with tons of technical and programming experience but a total ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Newbie Having Trouble Installing Linux (multiple distros)

I've decided to come over to Linux and discover what it can do for me. I'm a Windows 7 user with tons of technical and programming experience but a total newbee when it comes to Linux and its commands, etc.

Gotta start somewhere, right?

Okay, here's the problem.

I have a Sony Vaio desktop computer with 512mb ram (yeah, it's several years old). Figured Linux would liven it up some.

I originally installed Bodhi Linux (which it still has) on this machine without any issues. Still boots into this distro. Tried to install Python 3 and had too much trouble so I decided I want to try other distros.

So now I'm trying to install Ubuntu 13.10. After a few minutes it kicks out into a command line shell. This is what is shows:

Busybox v1.20.2.... built-in shell.
    (initramfs)

Funny thing is that Linux Mint 16 (cinnamon) installation does the exact same thing! (I did notice that it also referred to Ubuntu in the shell text, so clearly a common problem).

Two different DVDs, two different Distros. So I know it is not my DVDs.

Help?

Just Joined!
    Well, I guess this was a tough one because I have to reply to my own question. LOL!

No worries. I actually got it to work and am replying to my own post for the benefit of others.

It seems that this was due to something wacky with one of my hard drives.

My system is several years old, so it does not have RAID or SATA, nothing so obvious. Just two plain old 160g IDE drives and a BIOS with very little settings to deal with.

What I did was to boot into GPARTED.

I noticed that my secondary drive had an exclamation mark next to it.