Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm a total Linux newbie, even though I've used it on and off for a while, I still can't get to grips with it. I do like the speed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing windows on a lubuntu laptop as a dual boot

Hello,

I'm a total Linux newbie, even though
    I've used it on and off for a while, I still can't get to grips with it.

I do like the speed it delivers though on my netbook which is running lubuntu.

I'd like to dual boot into windows xp or 7, but I don't know how to add it to an existing linux installation.

any ideas?

Thanks

Linux Engineer
    You need to setup a new partition for Windows to be installed on. This will wipe out grub and you'll be forced to reinstall grub so you can see linux. Check out this link for more information: dual boot - How can I install Windows after I've installed Ubuntu? - Ask Ubuntu

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by mizzle View Post
    You need to setup a new partition for Windows to be installed on. This will wipe out grub and you'll be forced to reinstall grub so you can see linux.
    I had a look at gparted but cant seem to edit the partitions when they appear.

Maybe its best just to uninstall and use windows.

I like linux... sometimes, but its a real pain to configure

I think it probably easit to instal windows, then linux, then just get a little help setting it up again?

Thanks

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    Quote Originally Posted by slingshot View Post
    I had a look at gparted but cant seem to edit the partitions when they appear.

Maybe its best just to uninstall and use windows.

I like linux... sometimes, but its a real pain to configure

I think it probably easit to instal windows, then linux, then just get a little help setting it up again?

Thanks