Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Error installing Linux

Hi,

I'm Tim and new to Linux and the forum. I acquired a IBM/Lenovo M52 Thinkcentre without a HDD. It is a 340ghz pentium 4 and has 2 gig of RAM. I installed a 160GB HDD out of an old Sky+ box (I don't know what type it is, but all the connectors fitted fine). I installed Windows XP on it and that works fine. As XP is no longer supported, I want to install Linux. I have tried Mint, Ubunto and Linux Lite, using 2 different USB drive creators and get the error message:

Unable to find a medium containing a live file system

I have googled this and it suggests changing HDD settings in BIOS. I can't find any settings in BIOS to do this. I am not a computer expert and an learning as I go along, please try and phrase any responses in not too techy language. Can someone give me some help to solve this please as I am keen to try Linux. My ideal would be installing Mint, but at the moment would be happy to get any usable OS up and running.

I have tried different USB ports, and it does start reading from the USB stick as I get a linux logo.

If you've had it reading from a different USB port and got to a Linux logo, then the installer was underway. Some older computer bios systems didn't support boot up off USB, newer ones can have problems with USB3 ports and USB2 devices.

Once you had it reading the USB stick, then you should leave it to boot up. Remember that USB2 can be quite slow compared to a SATA interface so it might take a while to boot up.

How did you install Windwos? Was it from a CD? Can you burn a Linux installer CD using an ISO image and install the same way?
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/