Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Too many GRUBs spoil the Bootloader...

Hi!

This is my first post to Linux Forums, so please treat me kindly.

I'm fairly new to Linux, although I've had a few pops at it over the years.

Recently though, I decided to install Debian, dual-boot with Win 8.1 on my laptop. It's going great, all fine and I love Debian.

However, seeing how well it went, I decided to have a go at also putting CentOS on here. Bar a few hiccups, it also went well, but I soon decided CentOS was a bit too involved for me for the moment, so I'd rather keep the HD space for Windows and Debian, so I deleted the partition that CentOS was on.

Well, this opened a can of worms. Deleting this partition meant that GRUB found no operating systems. I tried Windows Recovery USB but that was about as much use as an anorak in a hurricane. So, despairing, I installed a second copy of Debian onto this blank partition, which solved the problem. GRUB now shows up both versions of Debian and Windows 8 (although it calls it Vista for some reason).

This being all good, I thought I could now delete this partition again and GRUB would be safely repaired, but it just put me back to the post-CentOS position again. I've now put Debian(2) back again so I can at least get on the PC.

A little Googling seems to suggest that I have two copies of GRUB now, one on the original Debian install and one on the new but undesired partition.

I would like to cause the computer to look at the other, original version of GRUB when it boots, so that I can remove the newer version, and its partition, and go back to my nice, simple dual-boot system. Is there any way to do this?

I have thought about deleting the original Debian partition and simply going with the new one, but I've done a ton of installing, apt-get etc and a load of Java coding on the old partition, so would rather not bin it unless I have to.