Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

can't install or run live cd on some computers

Tried to install Ubuntu, Lubuntu and Mint on various computers available because I'm a tech ( windows) I'm completely new to linux If the computer had a separate video card it installed if the video was build in it won't even run as a live cd . Is this a normal min requirement or am I missing something in the settings . This happened with old or newer machines . Any help would be appreciated

Thanks in advance
    Bob

Quote Originally Posted by Bob1960 View Post
    Tried to install Ubuntu, Lubuntu and Mint on various computers available because I'm a tech ( windows) I'm completely new to linux If the computer had a separate video card it installed if the video was build in it won't even run as a live cd . Is this a normal min requirement or am I missing something in the settings . This happened with old or newer machines . Any help would be appreciated

Thanks in advance
    Bob
    I've heard that some video chips and cards cause problems when you do a graphical install. It's not that you need a card; I have an Intel onboard chip and it works just fine. In any case, the next thing to try is a text-mode install. Not all installation discs give you this option. I'm rusty on Ubuntu but they used to have two discs: the standard one which was graphics only, and a special one which had the text option. Once you have a working system, you can look for a driver for your video chip.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.