Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Unable to boot from USB on Samsung Chromebook

I have been searching for a few days now (on and off) to find a solution to my problem.

I would like to install Linux on my Samsung XE303C12 Chromebook. It has an ARM processor. Ultimately I would like to replace ChromeOS with Linux. I have been using Linux Mint for a few years but started on Linux Mandrake and used Fedora for a while after that.

I have found many sites that describe how to install Linux on a Chromebook but I seem to be missing something important.

I have downloaded the latest (at the time of this writing is 27) Fedora. I use the dd command to write the .raw image to my USB drive. The image writes successfully and I am able to see the drive on a separate computer. After the dd command the drive contains a "/", "/boot" and "/USB" partition. All partitions are mountable and contain information.

My problem is the chromebook refuses to boot from the drive. I can use this drive to boot from my Asus chromebook and from a regular laptop so I don't think the drive is the problem.

I'm in developer mode and hit "CTL U" at the scary boot screen but usually I am rewarded with a beep and a return to the scary boot screen.

I tried an older version of Fedora and it actually tried to boot from the USB drive but failed because some file was missing or something. I didn't write down the exact message but I am unable to reproduce that now anyway.

I am assuming my boot drive is missing some information that the Samsung chromebook needs or the info is in the wrong location?

I'm not sure where to ask for help so I thought I'd try here.

I've been using Linux for a few years but still consider myself a newbie.

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by jeeper View Post
    It has an ARM processor.
    i have an arm-based laptop and it cannot boot from usb.
    does yours have an sd card slot?