Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
I am tryin to install RH 9.0 onto a HD using 3 CD's with the iso files on them.... I put the bootdisk.img file onto the first disk and made ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13

    CD-ROM install


    I am tryin to install RH 9.0 onto a HD using 3 CD's with the iso files on them.... I put the bootdisk.img file onto the first disk and made sure that my computer is booting from the CD-Rom first.... Is this wrong? If so what files or file am i supposed to have and could you show me where...

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Did you verify you cd:s or checked the keys??...otherwise the image-files can be corrupted. Otherwise all you have to do is to download the image files and burn them on a cd as an image. And then reboot with the cd inserted in your cd-drive.

    Regards
    Regards

    Andutt

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You're not supposed to write the bootdisk.img on a CD. That's only if you want a boot floppy, but the first ISO image is bootable. If you need a boot floppy (if, for example, your BIOS can't boot from ATAPI devices), you just write bootdisk.img to a floppy and you can boot from that instead. In any case, you're not supposed to write it to a CD.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13

    ok...

    how do i check to see if it is not corrupted exactally? I read about that but couldnt understand what they meant.... and if the .iso is bootable why isnt it booting.... would it not boot if i have the bootdisk.img on the CD?

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    how exactly did you burn the images?
    what software are you using?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13

    ...

    I used nero....I know there is some way i have to change the burning...just cant figure it out....

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    nope, just make sure you burn it either one of these two ways:

    file-burn image

    or using the nero wizard:

    create new cd, other cd projects, iso and images

    it must be burned as an image and NOT as a data cd.

    just making sure

    you definitely don't need a bootdisk, the cd is bootable as long as you set your bios to boot from cd rom

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13

    ...

    Ok.... I am gonna try now..I appreciate your help and will tell you if it works....If not..your dead... ....have a nice day!

  9. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    you have to burn them to a cd as an image and to do that with nero..if i remeber correctly you have to close everything(includniog the wizard) then go to file then burn image or something like that and then do what you need to do from there

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13

    ...

    Yeah..I am burning as we speak.... so cross you fingers....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •