Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello there, Can anyone here tell me what root partition is? I am a total newb who's trying to install Ubuntu Linux on my laptop. I have already created a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

what is root partition?

Hello there,

Can anyone here tell me what root partition is? I am a total newb who's trying to install Ubuntu Linux on my laptop. I have already created a 10GB space and a swap partition using partition magic, but somehow during the installation process, the GUI gives me the message that I dunt have a root partition. How do I create this root partition? Currently using windows XP Pro with SP 2 installed. Thank you in advance.

Young

Linux User
    The root partion is /, the... root of the filesystem. As in, everything else stems from it. You'll want to choose to mount / to your 10GB, and don't forget to assign your swap.
    Michael Salivar

Man knows himself insofar as he knows the world, becoming aware of it only in himself, and of himself only within it.
    --Goethe

Linux Enthusiast
    The partition that Linux is running from, referenced as /
    It's the topmost directory.
    Emotions are the key to the soul.
    Registered Linux User #375050

Just Joined!

Thank you for your reply

To everyone who replied to my post,

Thank you so much for your quick reply, I owe you big time. Just have a question to Ethyriel by the way, you mentioned something about choosing to mount / to my 10GB, and assigning my swab. Excatly how would I go about to do that? Is that something that I have to do during the installation procedure? Thank you in advance again.

Young

Linux Enthusiast
    / should be mounted at boot, if it doesn't, it didn't boot. In other words, you shouldn't need to mount it yourself, because your system wouldn't boot if it didn't get mounted automatically.