Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Where does RedHat 8 by default install .rpm packages? For example, I installed WINE on my RedHat box. How do I get into the program? As you can tell, I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RPM Package installs

Where does RedHat 8 by default install .rpm packages? For example, I installed WINE on my RedHat box. How do I get into the program?

As you can tell, I am a newbie to RedHat or any Linux!

Thanks for any replies.

Just Joined!

yeps same question for me

Same problem, same question...

Linux Guru
    Interesting question... From it I'm guessing that you two recently migrated from windows to linux. I can imagine that Windows might have some problems finding their way around the linux directory tree, especially since I recently saw someone referring to a directory as a "folder"... Let's make this perfectly clear: there is no such thing as a "folder" in any operating system! If you have known such an element, it is hereby a directory.
    Most people that I know that run windows are used to organizing their data on the hard drive in directories right under the root directory (such as C:\MP3, C:\Program Files C:\My Documents, etc.). As Windows is basically a single user system, and even one such based on DOS, this is understandable and excusable. I did so too, before I removed it.