Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I currently have 2hd, On the first drive I have windows and on the second I have 2 linux installations. The First is fedora core 3 with a /swap , ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3

    Boot Help. Semi-Noob, Not a Windows boot Issue


    I currently have 2hd, On the first drive I have windows and on the second I have 2 linux installations. The First is fedora core 3 with
    a /swap , /boot , / partitions and the same for the second Installation
    which is Suse 9.2, which is what I installed the boot loader with. Suse
    and windows boot fine, but fedora core 3 wont boot . I will post my setup
    info below, help would be apperciated.

    section name Fedora Core 3 (2.6.9-1.667)
    Section Type image
    root (hd1,1)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-1.667.nptl ro root=LABEL=/ hdb=ide-scsi apm=off
    acpi=on rhgb quiet
    initrid /initrid-2.6.9-1.667.nptl.img

    Thats my boot protocols for fedora

    the /boot partition for fedora is on hdb1 and the / is on hdb2

    I'm using Grub.

    If any other info is needed please advise so in the post.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Can you post the output of 'fdisk -l'?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    288
    Maybe I've just never seen it before, but shouldn't 'initrid' be 'initrd'?

    Also, and I only say this because sometimes nano drops text to a new line, are you sure 'acpi=on rhgb quiet' is on the right line?
    Michael Salivar

    Man knows himself insofar as he knows the world, becoming aware of it only in himself, and of himself only within it.
    --Goethe

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 4865 39078081 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/hdb: 80.0 GB, 80000000000 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9726 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdb1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
    /dev/hdb2 26 4487 35841015 83 Linux
    /dev/hdb3 4488 4869 3068415 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hdb4 4870 9725 39005820 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hdb5 4870 4901 257008+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hdb6 4902 5301 3212968+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hdb7 5302 9725 35535748+ 83 Linux

  6. #5
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Quote Originally Posted by Ethyriel
    Maybe I've just never seen it before, but shouldn't 'initrid' be 'initrd'?

    Also, and I only say this because sometimes nano drops text to a new line, are you sure 'acpi=on rhgb quiet' is on the right line?
    Oh...yeah...I missed that.

    It *should* be initrd.

    Other than that, everything looks fine. Make sure that entry is in your grub.conf from your /dev/hdb1. You only need one boot partition for all your Linuxes, not one for each.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3
    I fixed that stuff and it still doesn't work. I deleted the /boot for fedora and copied the info from there into the other /boot, and fixed the initrd thing, but it still isnt working correctly, still gives me the file not found on exfts2(possible typo there). Any other possibilities would be helpful. I'm sure there is someone else out there running these two together succesfully, who can help me out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •